List of Species of North American Woodpeckers

Click the links below to visit the individual profile pages for each of the 23 species of woodpeckers that reside in North America.

Genus Melanerpes

Lewis’s WoodpeckerMelanerpes lewis

Red-headed WoodpeckerMelanerpes erythrocephalus

Acorn WoodpeckerMelanerpes formicivorus

Gila WoodpeckerMelanerpes uropygialis

Golden-fronted WoodpeckerMelanerpes aurifrons

Red-bellied WoodpeckerMelanerpes carolinus

Genus Sphyrapicus

Williamson’s SapsuckerSphyrapicus thyroideus

Yellow-bellied SapsuckerSphyrapicus thyroideus

Red-naped SapsuckerSphyrapicus nuchalis

Red-breasted SapsuckerSphyrapicus ruber

Genus Picoides

Ladder-backed WoodpeckerPicoides scalaris

Nuttall’s WoodpeckerPicoides nuttallii

Downy WoodpeckerPicoides pubescens

Hairy WoodpeckerPicoides villosus

Arizona WoodpeckerPicoides arizonae

Red-cockaded WoodpeckerPicoides borealis

White-headed WoodpeckerPicoides albolarvatus

American Three-toed Woodpecker, Picoides dorsalis

Black-backed WoodpeckerPicoides arcticus

Genus Colaptes

Northern FlickerColaptes auratus

Gilded FlickerColaptes chrysoides

Genus Dryocopus

Pileated WoodpeckerDryocopus pileatus

Genus Campephilus

Ivory-billed WoodpeckerCampephilus principalis

© 2016 Woodpecker Wonderland. Site by Christine Elder Illustration & Design